Formerly called Albert National Park, Virunga National Park is located in the north-eastern province of Democratic Republic of the Congo. It was created in 1925, with an area of some 3,050 square miles (7,900 square km) making it one of Africa’s oldest and largest conservation areas with a huge diversity of habitats.

Virunga’s southern end rests on the northern banks of legendary Lake Kivu, not a very long distance from Goma town to the east. The park derives its name from historical Virunga Mountains which lie between Lake Kivu and Lake Edward extending right into Rwanda and Uganda. The 7 ancient volcanoes that make up this range, include the dormant Muhabura, Gahinga, Visoke (Bisoke), Mikeno, Karisimbi and Sabinyo, as well as the active Nyamulagira and Nyiragongo in D.R. Congo.

Book Now